ABCD 317Cover ABCD 317

Olli-Pekka TUOMISALO and his Orchestra


Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo's new CD Saxophone Romance includes both light orchestral music and the hauntingly beautiful themes of Duke Ellington. Featuring on this new release is a number of Finnish frontline musicians, including Aale Lindgrén, Tero Lindberg, Lily-Marlene Puusepp, Seeli Toivio, Marko Portin and Linda Hedlund. A special mention goes to the wonderful jazz trio that really made the Ellington pieces swing: Risto-Matti Marin, Vesa Ojaniemi and Mikko Arlin.

1 Julius JACOBSEN Valse Scherzando
2 Duke ELLINGTON - Billy STRAYHORN Star Crossed Lovers
3 George de GODZINSKY Pièce Romantique
4 Riccardo DRIGO Valse Bluette (orchestrated by George de Godzinsky)
5 Billy STRAYHORN Chelsea Bridge
6 Arthur BORNSCHEIN Lyrische Vision
7 Günther BACHNER Hechtsprünge
8 Duke ELLINGTON Prelude to a Kiss
9 Ernst FISCHER Im Schein der Abendsonne
10 Gustav LINDNER Valse Caprice
11 Duke ELLINGTON Sultry Sunset (arranged by John Harle & John Lenehan)

                         All the string arrangements of the Ellington & Strayhorh numbers are by Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo

--> ABCD 317 Saxophone Romance